Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

​​​​​​​​​Phi Theta Kappa​ traces its beginnings to a Society that originated with six charter members under the name of Kappa Phi Omicron at Stephens College in Columbia, Missouri, in 1910. In the spring of 1918, it was one of many honorary groups in Missouri. At a meeting of the presidents of the Missouri junior colleges for women in 1918, it was decided to organize a new honorary society, chapters of which would have a common character, stand and similarity of organization.

The name Phi Theta Kappa was chosen, and the Society was incorporated in Missouri as a national organization. Founders modeled many aspects of the new Society after the prestigious senior college honorary society, Phi Beta Kappa.

Iowa Honors Institute 2014, Teambuilding.

Iowa Honors Institute 2014, Teambuilding

In 1924, through constitutional amendment, the field of activity was enlarged to cover all junior colleges, and in 1926, Phi Theta Kappa expanded beyond the borders of Missouri and into coeducational institutions. The American Association of Junior Colleges (now known as the American Association of Community Colleges or AACC) recognized Phi Theta Kappa as the official honor society for two-year colleges in 1929.

Today, Phi Theta Kappa is an international scholastic society whose mission is to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. To achieve this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa provides opportunities for the development of leadership and service.

Spring 2014 Inductees and Beta Theta Xi officers.

Spring 2014 Inductees and Beta Theta Xi officers

On Feb 28, 2001, DMACC Carroll campus chartered their chapter, Beta Theta Xi. Officers and members of Beta Theta Xi meet regularly to discuss goals, projects, and events that promote the hallmarks of scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship. Beta Theta Xi is pleased to note that past and current members have been recipients of the Coca Cola Gold, Silver and Bronze Scholarship, Leaders of Promise Scholarship, and the Roy J. Carver Scholarship. Several members have been elected Regional Officers as well. Although small, we are mighty!

2014 All Iowa Banquet, Carroll members.

2014 All Iowa Banquet, Carroll members


To be eligible for membership a student must complete a minimum of twelve hours of associate degree course work (community college credits) and reach a grade point average (GPA) of 3.5 or higher. Students generally must maintain a high academic standing throughout their enrollment in the two-year college.


Participation is encouraged of all members-current and alumni-at events. Leadership isn't always a “serious” business though. Our leaders manage to have fun while still being role models for others!

C4 Meeting at State Capitol, having a bit of fun.

C4 Meeting at State Capitol, having a bit of fun

Phi Theta Kappa events
2014 Regional Conference Awards for Beta Theta Xi members

Phi Theta Kappa events
2014 NerdNation International Convention, Orlando, FL. Hail to the new Iowa Region President!