Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society of two year colleges with 1,280 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.

The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa shall be to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. To achieve this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa shall provide opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.


Members of Phi Theta Kappa may apply for some $37 million in transfer scholarships, provided exclusively to Society members by approximately 750 senior institutions. In addition Phi Theta Kappa administers several academic and individual scholarships such as All-USA Community College Academic Team, Guistwhite Scholarships, Hites Transfer Scholarships and Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team.

Leadership, Fellowship and Service

Every DMACC chapter is involved with various community events ranging from clothing and school supply drives to spending a day with children Oncology Camp. Phi Theta Kappa is a great way to give something back to our community. Your membership and participation in the Phi Theta Kappa at DMACC provides opportunities for you to attend various leadership and other skill-building seminars.

Membership Requirements

Students in all degree programs are eligible when they have completed 12 college credits and a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher.

How Do I Join?

You will receive an email invitation if you area asked to join this Honor Society. If you have questions regarding this opportunity, contact your DMACC Campus Phi Theta Kappa Advisor.


Ankeny Campus - Beta Epsilon Eta Chapter
Boone Campus - Tau Phi Chapter
Carroll Campus - Beta Theta Xi Chapter
Newton Campus - Beta Gamma Rho Chapter
Urban Campus - Beta Delta Psi Chapter
West Campus - Beta Mau Tau Chapter


Iowa Region
Phi Theta Kappa International