Information about Des Moines Area Community College and TITLE IX

​Title IX is a federal civil rights law enacted in 1972 that prohibits sex discrimination in educational programs and activities.  The amendment states that:

"No person in the United States shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subject to discrimination under any educational program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance."
-Title IX of the Educational Amendments of 1972 to the 1964 Civil Rights Act.

Title IX prohibits gender discrimination in all educational programs and activities. Title IX applies to admissions, financial aid, academics, athletics, career services, counseling, medical services, employment, and all other programs, events, and activities available at educational institutions. The prohibition against gender discrimination includes sexual harassment, sexual violence, sexual intimidation, and relationship violence. 

As part of an educational community, Des Moines Area Community College (DMACC) is committed to the principles of Title IX and to creating and maintaining an educational environment and workplace that is free from discrimination, sexual harassment, sexual assault, sexual intimidation, and sexual violence.

Join DMACC in creating and supporting a discrimination free environment by supporting the principles of consent in all relationships, by learning about Title IX, and by reporting any gender discrimination including sexual harassment, sexual assault, sexual intimidation, and sexual violence.

DMACC’s Title IX Coordinator is:

Debbie McKittrick
Judicial Office/Title IX Coordinator

2006 S Ankeny Blvd
Building 1
Ankeny, IA  50023


2-1-1 Get Connected. Get Answers.             Suicide Prevention Lifeline: 1-800-273-8255             Polk County Crisis and Advocacy Services logo