Experiences at DMACC Lead to College Presidencies

DMACC employment was one step toward a college presidency for fifteen former administrators, twelve men and three women. The length of DMACC employment for these future college presidents ranged from two to more than ten years with an average of six years. The last positions held at DMACC before being named a college president are as follows: Vice-President of Business-1, Vice President of Instruction-3, Vice President of Development-1; Campus Provost-2; Dean of Arts and Science-2; Dean of Vocational Educaion-3; Executive Director Human Services-1. Two presidents were former faculty members at the college before being promoted to an administrative position. The number of presidencies held range from one to three years: one year-9; two years-2; and three years-1.

The college presidents were employed in 12 states where they served as presidents of a two-year college, with the most in Iowa (5), followed by Nebraska (2) with the others all serving in one state. These states were locations of their presidencies: Colorado-1; Georgia-1; Iowa-4; Illinois-1; Massachusets-1; Michigan-1; Nebraska-2; New Jersey-1; Oregon-1; Texas-1; Washington-1; and Wisconsin-1.

The vast majority continued in presidential level positions for many years. In 2017, two are active; nine are retired; and four are deceased.

Colleges appropriately focus on helping students develop the knowledge and skills necessary to succeed in a career and life. Their record in preparing leaders within their staff is seldom noted. It appears that DMACC ranks high in the preparation of college presidents.

Former DMACC Staff Who Became College Presidents 1967 – 2017

<u>Name</u>	Position/s at DMACC	College Presidencies
Jack Asby	Vice President, Business	Pierce College (WA)
Joseph Borgen	Vice President, Instruction	Danville Area Community College (IL) Des Moines Area Community College (IA)
Richard Byerly	Vice President for Development	Southwest Community College (IA)
Laura L. Douglas	Provost, Urban Campus	Bristol Community College (MA)
Robert Eicher	Dean of Career Education	Southeast Nebraska Community College (NE)
Dorothy Franke	Assistant Dean of Arts and Sciences	Kirtland Community College (MI)

Carey Israel	Vice President, Economic Development Group	Collin County Community College District (TX), Front Range Community College (CO), Illinois Community College System (IL), Raritan Valley Community College (NJ)
Philip Langerman	Vice President, Instruction	Adams University (CO) Adams International University (GA)
Jerry Moskus	Vice President, Instruction	Lane Community College (OR) Metropolitan Community College (NE)
Carl Rolf	Dean of Industrial and Technical Education	Northwest Iowa Community College (IA)
Steve Schultz	Provost, Carroll Campus	North Iowa Area Community College (IA)
Rus Slicker	Dean of Arts and Sciences	Milwaukee Technical CC (WI)
Carol Spencer	Dean of Industrial and Technical Education	Cedar Valley College (TX) San Juan College (NM)
Michael Hupfer	Executive Director Human Resources	Iowa Lakes Community College (IA)

^{*}To access the DMACC History page search for DMACC Pioneers History